Margaret Atwood – The Poet Before The Handmaid’s Tale

Margaret Atwood is an author that was born in Canada on the 18th of November of 1939.

She is an author that is known throughout the world. She is responsible for writing many popular novels, short stories, and poems. Examples of her famous works include The Tent, Oryx and Crake, The Blind Assassin, The Handmaid’s Tale, and The Circle Game. There are translations of her work that were done. Also, some of her works have been adapted to the big screen. Two of her works were adapted into miniseries, and those two works are Alias Grace and The Handmaid’s Tale.

Margaret Atwood’s Accomplished Career in Literature

The first work that Atwood has published was a poetry pamphlet called Double Persephone. She had it printed through Hawkshead Press. She kept on creating poetry following her first in that decade alone, like the books The Animals in That Country and Talismans for Children. After that, she got her first novel published in 1969, which was called The Edible Woman. The book was a witty metaphorical story about a woman who was about to be wed for social status. 

Margaret Atwood is a woman with a spirit full of tenacity. She took public buses to sell her books and read them to people at gymnasiums. She kept on creating poetry, and she published more novels such as Life Before Man, Lady Oracle, and Surfacing. There were more novels that she wrote, but she became significantly popular thanks to a single book. The Handmaid’s Tale was the one book responsible for Atwood’s surge in popularity and fame. The book is a tale about a puritanical dystopia ruled by a theocracy. There is a group of female adults who are designated to bear children for the overlords of the corporations.

Atwood’s Work on Television

Margaret Atwood’s novels The Robber Bride, The Blind Assassin, and Surfacing are novels that have been adapted to show on the screen. There is also The Handmaid’s Tale, which is a novel that was also done in an opera format. It was turned into a film in 1990, and it starred Natasha Richardson as the lead character Offred. Other actors that starred in the 1990 film include Robert Duvall, Faye Dunaway, Elizabeth McGovern, and Aidan Quinn. Harold Pinter was responsible for the screenplay of the film.

Margaret Atwood books
Margaret Atwood books

A couple of decades later, The Handmaid’s Tale became a miniseries for Hulu during the spring of 2017. The stars of the TV miniseries were Offred played by Elisabeth Moss, and with her were Joseph Fiennes, Alexis Bledel, and Samira Wiley. Later on, the TV miniseries was a winner of a few Emmy Awards. One of the awards was for Outstanding Drama Series, which was the first time Hulu received an Emmy award. Additionally, another one of Atwood’s novels was adapted by Netflix into a miniseries during 2017’s fall season, and that novel was Alias Grace. In both of those miniseries, Margaret Atwood appears in them as a cameo. Also, Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy seems to be coming up as a planned adaptation by HBO.